Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician

Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician

Becoming an emergency medical technician (EMT) requires commitment and dedication to study and hands-on experience.

Upon completion of schooling, successful candidates must sit for and pass the NREMT exam to join the ranks of the Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technicians. Though there are hundreds of thousands of registered EMTs working and volunteering today, the road to certification is paved with hard work and concerted effort. If you have what it takes to work as an EMT, read on for information about how to become registered.

Registering as an EMT

There are four different ways to join the NREMT registry. The national certification levels are Emergency Medical Responder, Emergency Medical Technician (sometimes referred to as EMT-Basic or EMT-B), Advanced EMT, and Paramedic (sometimes referred to as EMT-P). To learn about the differences between each designation, visit Generally speaking, the various distinctions refer to the type of training you have received or will enroll in, and the type of care you are responsible for and able to provide to patients in the field.

Education for NREMTs

In the state of Florida, before any training in programs like the EMT and Paramedic programs at HCI can take place, candidates must meet certain minimum requirements. These include being age 18 or older, completing high school or a GED program, having a valid driver’s license and clear background check, passing a physical fitness test and more.

The education programs consist of labs, lectures, and hands-on experiential hours in the field, in both hospitals and on ambulances. Learn more about the program offerings for each diploma program here.

The NREMT Exam

Upon program completion, students meeting all passing requirements must pass the NREMT exam before obtaining an EMT/paramedic license and beginning work. The exam is administered in two parts that assess your knowledge and ability to perform on the job. An application and fee are required, and students who do not pass are able to be reevaluated three times before requiring documentation of remedial training to test again. Additional details about the scope of the NREMT exam can be found here.

Accrediting Commission of Careers Schools and Colleges ACCSC logo Career Source Palmbeach County logo Commision for Independent EDU log FDOE logo NHA logo FAPSC logo National League for Nursing logo Library and Information Resources Network logo Statewide Course Numbering System logo logo Career Source Broward County logo