West Palm Beach Campus nursing program is a candidate for initial accreditation by the ACEN. This candidacy status expires on May 5, 2025

Florida Paramedic Requirements

Florida Paramedic Requirements

If you’ve decided fast-paced work in the health industry is right for you, and you love being involved in your community and helping people, you may be just right for a career as an emergency medical technician or paramedic.

Once you’ve established that this route suits you, you may want to begin learning about the demands of the job, requirements for training, and how to become a paramedic in the state of Florida.

Who can become a paramedic?

Before you enroll in a paramedic training program like the one offered at HCI, you must meet certain standards as set forth by the state and the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.

All potential candidates must:
● Be at least 18 years of age when starting a paramedic training or diploma program
● Have successfully obtained a high school diploma or GED
● Have completed an HIV/AIDS training course
● Have a valid driver’s license
● Have a certification in professional basic life support (BLS) from the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association
● Be CPR certified

All students pursuing an EMT or paramedic license must also submit to a background check, and may not have been convicted of a felony in the preceding 5 years.

Students must also demonstrate a standard level of physical fitness. An exam will be issued that measures students’ ability in accordance with the Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services (HRS). Finally, all future paramedics must be able to display vocational or college-preparatory levels of English understanding. This may be measured by a remedial course or standardized test.

Paramedic Requirements

Successful completion of HCI’s three-semester lab and lecture paramedic diploma program means students must carry at least a B average. They must also complete 240 hours of riding practical and 160 hours of hospital practical. Upon completion, a pass/fail exam is taken to award passing students with a diploma.

To obtain the state license, students must apply and pay an exam fee for Paramedic Certification. This NREMT exam contains both written and practical tests. Candidates

Accrediting Commission of Careers Schools and Colleges ACCSC logo Career Source Palmbeach County logo Commision for Independent EDU log FDOE logo NHA logo FAPSC logo National League for Nursing logo Library and Information Resources Network logo Statewide Course Numbering System logo tutor.com logo