Graduation June 21, 2024 – Guest Speaker Ken West, President & CEO of HCA Florida JFK Hospital

What You Need to Know About the NREMT

What You Need to Know About the NREMT

To become an emergency medical responder and work as a paramedic or EMT-Basic in the United States takes a significant amount of discipline, study, and practical training.

These steps all culminate in the final exam, the licensing board or NREMT to join the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.

Before You Begin the NREMT Process

Before candidates can take the exam to become a professionally licensed paramedic, they must:
1. Be 18 or older
2. Have a current National Certification or state license, at least EMT level
3. Complete a state-approved accredited paramedic educational program
4. Have completed paramedic training within the preceding two years or an appropriate refresher course

Other limitations and specifications may apply to non-traditional cases. Learn more here.

The Application & Certification Process for the NREMT

To begin, applicants should create an account with and submit an online application. Accompanying the application is a required fee of $110. Once eligibility is approved, applicants will receive an Authorization to Test, or ATT. This ATT statement provides further details regarding exam time and date scheduling and items required for proper identification on the day of exam.

To successfully pass the NREMT Paramedic exam, candidates must pass both a cognitive and psychomotor portion. If retesting is required for passage of the cognitive text, an additional $110 fee is required.

The Cognitive Exam for the NREMT

The cognitive exam is a CAT or computer adaptive test, which includes from 80 to 150 test items and can take up to the allotted two hours and 30 minutes to complete. Topics covered include:
● Airway, Respiration & Ventilation
● Cardiology & Resuscitation
● Trauma
● Medical & Obstetrics/Gynecology
● EMS Operations

If candidates do not pass, they may reapply for testing after 15 days. Candidates may test up to six times; after three failures to pass, documentation of remedial training is required. 

The Psychomotor Exam for the NREMT

The psychomotor examination determines proficiency in 12 skills and is delivered in a scenario format. The 12 skills include:

● Patient Assessment-Trauma
● Ventilatory Management
● Cardiac Management Skills
● IV and Medication Skills
● Oral Station
● Pediatric Skills
● Random Basic Skills

Accrediting Commission of Careers Schools and Colleges ACCSC logo Career Source Palmbeach County logo Commision for Independent EDU log FDOE logo NHA logo FAPSC logo National League for Nursing logo Library and Information Resources Network logo Statewide Course Numbering System logo logo Career Source Broward County logo